Ending 7 – from a British novel published in 1975

author_im.jpg

Photo of the author as an additional hint

“You sound very cold about it. Perhaps you don’t care much what I do.”
“Perhaps not. That’s your way home, this is mine.”
“I’m coming with you.”
“I hope you’ll invite me to your wedding with Mr Spranger. I’m getting used to weddings, I rather enjoy them.”
“I’m not going to marry him. I’m going to marry you.”
We were standing at the corner of Kensington Church Street. It was beginning to snow quite fast now. The bells of St Mary Abbots were ringing Christmas in with wild cascades of joy. Other churches nearby had taken up the chime. The Christ child, at any rate, had managed to get himself born.
“Happy Christmas, Tommy.”
“I’m going to marry you, Hilary.”
“Are you, Thomas?”
“Yes, I’m going to marry you.”
“Are you, Thomasina?”

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Literature, Novel, Novel endings, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ending 7 – from a British novel published in 1975

  1. clarkebruce says:

    Something by Iris Murdoch – never read any of her’s so have no idea other than that

  2. Yes, it is from an Irish Murdoch novel.

    Anyone out there who’s read this?

  3. maryt says:

    All I’ve read by Iris Murdoch is “Jackson’s Dilemma,” “The Bell,” and “A severed Head.”

  4. maryt says:

    How about “A Word Child?”

  5. Hooray! Congratulations, maryt! It is the ending of “A Word Child.”

    One of my Murdoch favorites. So are “A Severed Head” and “Bruno’s Dream.”

  6. maryt says:

    That was really hard, Leon!

  7. How did you determine it was this novel? Sleuth work?

Leave a Reply

