Tender is the night

lawyers_in_love.jpg

Between the darkness on the street
And the houses filling up with light
Between the stillness in my heart
And the roar of the approaching night
Somebody’s calling after somebody
Somebody turns the corner out of sight
Looking for somebody

Jackson Browne (from Tender is the night)

Sometimes the lyrics of a song are sheer poetry. These few lines by Jackson Browne have remained in my mind ever since I bought the Lawyers in Love album this song is on sometime in the 90s. While not as great in total as some of his earlier work, there are some gems on this one – another one being the title song. Still to be had, e.g. from Amazon.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Music, Poetry, Stellar poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tender is the night

  1. maryt says:

    Picture and lyrics arrested me! Am in the process of reading your latest posts. See my post for 2/20: http://maryt.wordpress.com/2007/02/20/the-actual-second-coming/

    Do you object to my use of “arrest” that way?

  2. Thanks, Mary. No, I don’t object to “arrest”. Actually, I feel rather flattered!

Leave a Reply

