Point blank, right between the eyes

bs_the_river.jpg

Once I dreamed we were together again, baby you and me
Back home in those old clubs the way we used to be

We were standin’ at the bar, it was hard to hear
The band was playin’ loud and you were shoutin’ somethin’ in my ear

You pulled my jacket off and as the drummer counted four
You grabbed my hand and pulled me out on the floor

You just stood there and held me, then you started dancin’ slow
And as I pulled you tighter I swore I’d never let you go

Well I saw you last night down on the avenue
Your face was in the shadows but I knew it was you

You were standin’ in the doorway out of the rain
You didn’t answer when I called out your name

You just turned, and then you looked away
Like just another stranger waitin’ to get blown away

– Bruce Springsteen

Note
From Point Blank on The River. One of my favorite songs by The Boss, what I would call a somber mood piece. Could have come straight out of a film noir or a novel by James M. Cain. Unforgettable.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Lyrics, Music, Poetry, Stellar poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

