Word 2007

The other day I installed Microsoft Office 2007, the Home and Student version, purchased for about 150 $. I hadn’t upgraded since Office 97 because I’d never seen anything worthwhile in the more recent versions I’d worked with on other people’s computers.

However, I had experienced some file format compatibility problems with later versions, so this inexpensive deal persuaded me: Finally a Microsoft product at a price commensurate with its intrinsic value!

So what’s my first impression?

  • Speed: lame, lamer, lamest. As usual, the best Wintel form of advertisement for buying a new computer with oodles of memory to make this penguin fly.
  • Nothing’s where it used to be for reasons unknown and incomprehensible.
  • In view of the gimmicky graphics this version is overloaded with, its predecessors were lean mean word crunching machines.
  • Lots of new prefab design features that drive Microsoft nannyism to dizzying new heights.
  • The Home and Student version constantly reminds me of what a cheapskate I am to have bought it by telling me about itself and its non-commercial purpose in the title bar.

Conclusion: Avoid if you can. Am I glad I still have WordPerfect for my creative writing.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Life, Rant, Software, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

