What prosy winds will do

I held a Jewel in my fingers

I held a Jewel in my fingers –
And went to sleep –
The day was warm, and winds were prosy –
I said “‘Twill keep” –

I woke – and chid my honest fingers,
The Gem was gone –
And now, an Amethyst remembrance
Is all I own –

– Emily Dickinson (c. 1861)

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Literature, Poetry, Stellar poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What prosy winds will do

  1. suburbanlife says:

    Oh, such austerity with such power “the winds were prosy” opens itself to wonderful interpretations. I think Emily is a Goddess! Are you familiar with US artist Leslie Dill – she uses Dickinson’s poetry for elements in her visual art expressions, and they are wonderful and delicate. Google her, James – I’d love to know what you think of her work. G

  2. maryt says:

    James, I looked up “prosy” and besides the meaning “of or pertaining to prose” the word means “prosaic, dull.” Also while we expect “chide” apparently “chid” is acceptable. The line “I woke – and chid my honest fingers,” is wonderful! As if her own fingers could be doing something dishonest, like stealing the gem without her knowing it.
    She is indeed marvelous — right, suburbanlife?

  3. Thanks for both of your comments, suburbanlife and maryt! I’m especially happy about the explanation of the different meanings of “prosy.”

  4. Lois says:

    Enjoy your blog, James. And like your poetry selections.

Leave a Reply

