Four strong winds

To continue with the wind theme – introduced with Emily Dickinson –, here are the lyrics of a song written by Ian Tyson. It was first released in 1964 by Canadian folk duo Ian and Sylvia but later covered by numerous others (including Neil Young) and voted the most essential piece of Canadian music in 2005.

Four strong winds that blow slowly
Seven seas that run high
All these things that don’t change come what may
Now our good times are all gone
And I’m bound for moving on
I’ll look for you if I’m ever back this way

Guess I’ll go out to Alberta
Weather’s good there in the Fall
Got some friends that I can go to workin’ for
Still I wish you’d change your mind
If I asked you one more time
But we’ve been thru that a hundred times or more

Four strong winds that blow lonely
Seven seas that run high
All these things that don’t change come what may
Now our good times are all gone
And I’m bound for movin’ on
I’ll look for you if I’m ever back this way

If I get there before the snow flies
and if things are going good
You could meet me if I send you down the fare
But by then it would be winter
Nothing much for you to do
And the wind sure blows cold way out there

Four strong winds that blow slowly
Seven seas that run high
All these things that don’t change come what may
Now our good times are all gone
And I’m bound for movin’ on

I’ll look for you if I’m ever back this way
Yes, I’ll look for you if I’m ever back this way

– Ian Tyson

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Love, Lyrics, Music, Poetry, Stellar poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four strong winds

  1. suburbanlife says:

    James – thanks for posting this little visit down memory lane! I was in first year art school in 64, and this was the song we would all sing at studio parties accompanied by a fellow on acoustic guitar- charmed times they were too! 🙂 G

Leave a Reply

