What’s it like on Love Street?

doors_movie.jpg

She lives on Love Street
Lingers long on Love Street
She has a house and garden
I would like to see what happens

She has robes and
She has monkeys
Lazy diamond-studded flunkies
She has wisdom and
Knows what to do

She has me and she has you

I see you live on Love Street
There’s a store where the creatures meet
I wonder what they do in there
Summer Sunday and a year
I guess i like it fine, so far

She lives on Love Street
Lingers long on Love Street
She has a house and garden
I would like to see what happens

– Lyrics and music by The Doors

(from the album Waiting for the Sun, 1968)

Personal note
Never having been a great Doors fan, I had not heard this song until I saw Oliver Stone’s psychedelic 1991 film The Doors at the house of Greg and Sylvaine, friends I was staying with in 1997 in Boulder, CO. I immediately fell in love with its playful bounciness and had to have the CD it was on. This was in the earlier days of CDs, and I didn’t have a CD player yet, so that was the first purchase I made when I got back to Germany from this trip to the U.S.

I found an interesting note on this song on the Internet:
“About the street in Laurel Canyon, CA, where Jim Morrison lived with his girlfriend, Pamela Courson. The address was 1812 Rothdell Trail, but they called it Love Street because they could sit on the balcony and watch the hippies go by.”

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Film, Life, Love, Lyrics, Movies, Music, Stellar poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

