Way to blue

I’m throwing in Nick Drake’s Way to Blue here to introduce the lyrics to Lucinda Williams’ Blue – but this might not be all that far-fetched considering that she recorded one of his songs way back when (Which Will on her 1992 album Sweet Old World). One way to blue…

Blue

Go find a jukebox
and see what a quarter will do
I don’t wanna talk
I just wanna go back to blue

Feeds me when I’m hungry
and quenches my thirst
Loves me when I’m lonely
and thinks of me first

Blue is the color of night
When the red sun
disappears from the sky

Raven feathers shiny and black
A touch of blue
glistening down her back

We don’t talk about heaven
and we don’t talk about hell
We come to depend on
one another so damn well

So go to confession
Whatever gets you through
You can count your blessings
I’ll just count on blue

– Lucinda Williams (from Essence, 2001)

Other ways to blue:
The bluest of blue
Ode in D blue

The song performed not by Lucinda Williams herself but – very nicely and lyrically – by Andrea Glass, a singer/songwriter from the north of England, accompanying herself on guitar:

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Music, Poetry, Stellar poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

