Here, there, everywhere

Boats on the Hoogli

I look across the small Neckar at dusk,
and it is like an apology for
what we failed to accomplish
on these shores. You are away
in distant Bengal, where I now
imagine I’m drifting down the
scintillating expanse of the Hoogli
in a small boat, going by the Kalighat
temple, considering the din and
clamor there, distant from where
you are in the mire of Kolkata
at Ballygunje Place. But so close
that I can see you step out on
your wire-grated balcony to hang up
a red and gold sari to dry.

– James Steerforth (© 2008)

Written to incorporate 3WW’s words for today – apology, consider, distant.

3WW logo

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, India, Life, Literature, Love, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here, there, everywhere

  1. Corina says:

    I like the imagery and the exotic nature of the setting. The vision of her stepping out on the wire-grated balcony to hang up a red and gold sari is in my mind like I am seeing it myself. Nice job!

  2. Thanks, Corina. I’m happy the poem came alive for you.

  3. whypaisley says:

    this is such a lament like tale of a lost love.. so simple and yet so utterly personal in every way…

  4. pieceofpie says:

    failed to accomplish on these shores…is there no tomorrow..?…but so close…sounds like it… it is a very beautiful apology… did she hear it?

  5. maryt says:

    James, a beautiful poem to lost love. So many thoughts go through my head and so many questions. The image of her hanging the sari is marvelous! Thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

