Stranded

My home’s the beach
Strange animals hoot and howl inland at night
I’ve seen airy outlines of humans
in the far distance at times

My nourishment are coconuts
and the occasional fish I catch
(I’ve taught myself the art)
My fears have had the upper hand

I’m stranded
The surf is my steady friend
One day I’ll leave the shore
To venture along

Forget my fears
What have I got to lose
I’ve only got one island
to make friends meet enemies

– James Steerforth ( © 2008 )

Written for One Single Impression.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Enigma, Life, Literature, Nature, Poetry, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stranded

  1. Sandy says:

    Now, this is stranded! I enjoyed reading it.

  2. maryt says:

    I like this a lot James! “I’ve only got one island/to make friends meet enemies” Marvelous ending! Mine’s up!

  3. spacedlaw says:

    Lovely poem. I love that there is no desperation in this.

  4. meeyauw says:

    Hi James: the line about seeing humans . . . makes me think that land is not what has stranded this person.
    http://meeyauw-pad.blogspot.com/2008/04/one-single-impression-stranded.html

  5. vixensden says:

    Great writing. I too love the line “to make friends meet enemies”

  6. lucricausa says:

    I imagine this is a stranding by the fears which “have the upper hand”. The isolating struggle became so much a part of his identity that the courage it took to teach himself survival became the fear which held him back from sure footing. There’s something strangely solidifying to some in hardship… one fears being without. That is, until you are – meeting new enemies.

    I enjoyed this very much.

  7. teric says:

    It is beautifull written. I felt like I could walk in the sand with you.

  8. pieceofpie says:

    the beauty of the sound of waves… no nothin except one self… hmmm… i imagine at first it would be great.. but after abt 1 day… yes, my fears would soon set in.. it is a beautiful poem…

Leave a Reply

