Glory to the fleeting house

I’m letting Tim Buckley fill in for One Single Impression‘s prompt this time. Here’s Morning Glory (lyrics below the video link):

I lit my purest candle close to my
Window, hoping it would catch the eye
Of any vagabond who passed it by,
And I waited in my fleeting house

Before he came I felt him drawing near;
As he neared I felt the ancient fear
That he had come to wound my door and jeer,
And I waited in my fleeting house

“Tell me stories,” I called to the Hobo;
“Stories of cold,” I smiled at the Hobo;
“Stories of old,” I knelt to the Hobo;
And he stood before my fleeting house

“No,” said the Hobo, “No more tales of time;
Don’t ask me now to wash away the grime;
I can’t come in ’cause it’s too high a climb,”
And he walked away from my fleeting house

“Then you be damned!” I screamed to the Hobo;
“Leave me alone,” I wept to the Hobo;
“Turn into stone,” I knelt to the Hobo;
And he walked away from my fleeting house

– Written by Tim Buckley

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Life, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glory to the fleeting house

  1. Thanks for this. I liked this a lot!

    Although I do have a wordpress blog, I do not use it becos I keep as a mirror blog for my blogger one. I do not know how to comment on your post without logging in. I have seen others doing it, though.

    pit of your spit

  2. Thanks, Gautami!

    As you can see, commenting here worked just fine 🙂

    This song dates from the early 1970s and is full of pathos, but it really does have something very special.

  3. whypaisley says:

    excellent choice… i must admit… morning glory was first on my list of inspirations too this week when i saw the prompt…..

  4. Andrée says:

    I had never heard this song or singer. It was a great video: sad, dark.

Leave a Reply

