The future of the planet

I’ve followed Sunday Scribblings for about half a year and have always been impressed by the responses to the various prompts.

However, I am absolutely amazed by the quality and pertinence of many of the contributions the current The future of the planet prompt has triggered.

Instead of writing something myself, I decided to collect some of my favorite quotes or passages from 12 contributions here, thereby creating a little anthology, so to speak.

1. From the sonnet by Granny Smith

Yet all the while our hope is shining high
above us: Sol, our star, our answer, Sun.
Its flames can turn our turbines. Will earth die?
Not if humans are wise and act as one.

2. From Eccentric Spheres by Tiel Aisha Ansari

We’re all afloat in cosmic seas
of milk or ink or sorrow’s tears,
but always on the move, like spheres
eccentric, crystalline, and full
of music playing in God’s skull.

3. From I remember the world of tomorrow by Rob Kistner

Those who create, manufacture, and distribute technology, as well as those of us who use it — we must all remain mindful of the balance between “can we” and “should we”, and vigilant that we do not tip that scale. If we pay prudent attention to these two questions, take the responsible steps to restore what imbalance we may have created to date, by ceasing the rape of our planet, and taking serious steps to reverse the threat of global warming — our future will be a great era of humankind.

4. From It’s the end of the world as we know it by Mandy de Waal

Then there’s the fact that we’ve basically been treating the earth like absolute shit, and by all accounts she’s pretty pissed at us.

5. From Greenish Lady‘s dream from 1973

There would be no poverty, no starving children, there would be no wars. No-one would suffer because they were of a different race, colour or religion than anyone else. We would all have finally realised that we are indeed one people living on one planet; that we each have responsibility for all our brothers and sisters throughout the earth, and no-one would want to have more than their needs filled, while there was anyone who did not have their most basic needs seen to.

6. From How to think green by Anthony North

The first is the ascendancy of Big Biz – huge multi-national corporations which are, in effect, the main polluters of the planet. Big Biz works on a simple philosophy. This is that to continue to hold their power, ‘systems’ must be so big that only they can afford to run them.
A fossil fuel based economy is one such system. And in maintaining it, Big Biz guarantees that no other businesses – using, cleaner, more easily managed tech – can ever challenge them. Hence, their very existence demands that they cannot be eco-friendly. To be so would destroy them.

7. From a comment by murat11 on a comment to his contribution

whatsa a pea-brain like me gonna say to a call for futurism? I barely make it in the moment, but plantains, now plantains…well, truth is, I don’t even know plantains, but I’m sure they’ll make it, as will the mung beans.

8. From Gemma Wiseman‘s poem

Mini dreams
Of real estate moghuls

9. From Dressed Rehearsal by Jodi Herman

and the planet earth-
is just a dressed rehearsal,
for the soul??

10. From The Future of the World – A letter to my infant daughter by Matthew

I hope that in my own life I can tread a little more lightly upon this earth and learn to live more in concert with the ebb and flow of life. I will continue to look within and explore the stillness that extends over this mysterious planet. I will do my part to re-member and find inside my heart that connection that binds us all together.

11. From Traveller’s musings by Medhini Seshadri

Man is also a son of God like all of us. Mother Nature shall tame his crude ways. and then he shall learn from the tree to give without asking, he shall learn from the flowers to empty nectar for bees and from the river he shall learn that our ultimate goal is One.

12. From Eternal Gearbox by Niebla

The future of the planet
is rewriting itself
continually

These excerpts simply represent what struck me the most among the contributions I read (I did not read each and every one; I did read around 40 of them). Their selection and numbering sequence are not meant to indicate any kind of judgment or preference.

I hope it’s all right with the authors that I quoted them here. If one of you is unhappy about being “featured” here, please let me know in a comment, and I will remove the quote.

– James Steerforth

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Life, Poetry, Time, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The future of the planet

  1. anthonynorth says:

    Hi James,
    Many thanks for including a quote from my post here. I think you’ve done an excellent job in collecting these pieces.

  2. paisley says:

    i for one am honored..thank you so much for allowing me to be showcase here… i don’t think anyone will know me by my real name… but you never know……

  3. Granny Smith says:

    Thank you for the link to my blog and the quote from my sonnet. I think you have chosen an original and clever way to call attention to many relevant writers, and I am about to check out all of them to see if I have missed any of them.

  4. Thank you for mentioning me on your blog. I appreciate it.

  5. Medhini says:

    It was a delight to read this collection of quotes. Thank you for including mine. And thank you for sharing ‘In the amusement park’.

Leave a Reply

