The T. B. blues

The day that happened
I sat at my computer
it’s easy to catch me there lots of times
typing away, maybe poetry,
maybe some other shit who knows
and probably was reminded of some movie
I’d never seen but heard about
I now don’t remember its title
but I remember who was in it
That well-known actress
turned aerobics whose father
was a famous actor and whose brother
was in Easy Rider and other movies
Not Jack Nicholson, don’t know if he’s
got a sister or father
And I may have been nursing something
cool and mellow like Wild Turkey
to go with the computer work
and remembrance of things past
Man that used to be my favorite drink
Straight! Nothing added
One time George, Pat and I
went to throw darts somewhere
in downtown Boulder
and I had eight shots while trying
to shoot darts
Wild Turkey made them more accurate
for a while but then less accurate
But why am I getting into this
All I needed was something longish
to shout into a microphone

– James Steerforth ( © 2008 )

Marbled notes

Now that was some rambling and a lot longer than the American Sentence I was going to write upon instigation by Mariacristina, where I saw once again that famous picture of Allen Ginsberg taken by Peter Orlovsky that shows Ginsberg typing away in the light from one of those old-fashioned American desk lamps with the heavy iron base, but then got sidetracked because of visiting other blogs, including the one of T. B., in honor of whom I wrote the above. All very inspiring and associative, as you can see.

Written also in honor of Sunday Scribblings # 109 and the extended family of the poets of the blogosphere.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Fun, Life, Literature, Poetry, Stellar poetry, Time, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The T. B. blues

  1. I like rambligs, especially ones that go inside a writer’s head and writing processs.

    Thanks for the shout out!

  2. Granny Smith says:

    Dreamy. I like the way Jane Fonda is not mentioned by name.

  3. A journey into a poets mind.. I loved reading it..

    kindred

  4. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  5. Dick Jones says:

    Sometimes random’s what it’s all about and this does random very pleasingly.

  6. Dick Jones says:

    Sometimes only random does it and this does random very pleasingly!

  7. Thanks for reading and commenting, Dick! Glad the T.B. blues pleased you.

Leave a Reply

