Both sides now

He was so busy looking at either side of the medal
that he lost track of the medal itself

– James Steerforth ( © 2008 )

This aphorism-like thingy came to me this morning as I was about home from my morning walk.

I’d practiced looking at the down side in the early morning, half awake, half dazed, half still immersed in some drawn-out, blurry dream about my ability/inability to participate in this world.

The title came as an afterthought and is, of course, a reference to the song by Joni Mitchell:

I’ve looked at life from both sides now
From win and lose and still somehow
It’s life’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know life at all …

Here she is, performing “Both Sides Now” in 1970:

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Life, Love, Lyrics, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

