Sadness and happiness

green_valley

I kept walking and reached the valley of sadness – lush green meadows, a rushing brook, a lining of dark trees on both sides. It looked like the proverbial locus amoenus, but I felt invaded by its sadness, which was, perhaps, due to its loneliness. There were no people, no animals to be seen. I kept picking up speed as I walked along, the sadness encroaching on me.

The valley eventually narrowed, and now there were birdcalls and dogs barking in the distance. I had entered the chasm of happiness, advertised by a wooden sign nailed to a pine trunk. The terrain had turned rocky. I was on a winding path that had started to climb between steep red cliffs. And I could hear the grind of cart wheels coming towards me.

– James Steerforth ( © 2008 )

Second contribution to the “sweet dreams and nightmares” series.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Enigma, Flash fiction, Life, Literature, Sweet dreams and nightmares, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

