Today

Dedicated to Rabindranath Tagore

His lotus went unheeded – I knew not
what fragrance the south wind would carry
to induce strange longing

In fact, I knew not the south wind

I am so ignorant – occasionally! –
I told myself

And too concerned with myself
and the writing of poetry
that comes from that self
or something like it

Let the lotus and the south wind be

– James Steerforth ( © 2009 )

Note
I was going to rewrite a poem by Rabindranath Tagore I had just read, trying to “rejuvenate” it (take out that 19th century British-style stuffiness he instilled in his own translations), and this was the outcome, sort of a Rabindranath Tagore gone New York Poets piece only somewhat related to the original.

Happens to go well with Totally Optional Prompts’ Rewrite issue.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Life, Literature, Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today

  1. Linda Jacobs says:

    Really beautiful! I love the line, “what fragrance the south wind would carry.”

  2. Felicity says:

    I love this poem.
    I love the way you’ve personified the south wind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

