Wasn’t born to follow

And if you think I’m ready
You may lead me to the chasm
Where the rivers of our visions
Flow into one another
(from “Wasn’t born to follow”, written Gerry Goffin / Carole King, as sung by The Byrds)

I have no guru,
not much religion.

I doubt the old books,
doubt the old gods.

Still I look for truth
and know

there’s eternity,
there’s much more

to life than atoms
and cells.

And even though
I know we’re all

one, all grapes
off the same vine,

I often feel alone
as a meteorite shard,

crashed somewhere,
lying unrelated,

and as shut into
myself

as a stone.

– James Steerforth ( © 2009 )

Posted for Sunday Scribblings’ Follow.

Note
The song “Wasn’t born to follow”, performed by The Byrds, was part of the soundtrack of the 1969 movie Easy Rider starring Dennis Hopper, Peter Fonda and Jack Nicholson. In essence, the film is about a new dream of freedom crushed by an old, restrictive world order that does not tolerate anything but itself.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Enigma, Life, Literature, Lyrics, Movies, Philosophy, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wasn’t born to follow

  1. Maybe, we’re all just pebbles on a beach.

    I like the positive knowing that there’s eternity!

  2. Tumblewords says:

    I love this piece. It speaks so clearly to me.

  3. floreta says:

    this is a great movie!! thanks for sharing. i can relate a lot to these words..

  4. Jerzy says:

    Who are you James, a resonate poet who echos lives past in the present. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

