Courage

Cherish oneself,
ululate release,
absolution generates epiphany

– James Steerforth ( © 2010 )

An acronym poem for Sunday Scribblings’ ‘Courage’.

Well … another enigmatic one. I wrote several acronym ‘poems’ for courage because no image arose from the word. (Mostly I find it hard to get started with abstract terms. Concrete things seem to work much better for me, leading to other concrete things and then possibly to some abstract idea, concept or even a story.)

This one remained abstract – like an aphorism, but one reluctant to tell you anything real. In essence like a John Ashbery poem, except that it’s three lines instead of 2112. Or what do you think?

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Enigma, Literature, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Courage

  1. annyse26 says:

    i love that u have couage on ur page Its BIGGG

  2. Divaa Divine says:

    i like how pronounce it so deeply in a three liner. I truly find this abstraction relate-able!

  3. I love ululate release! I also love that your explanation is longer than the poem. Just a small bit of advice; when you are courageous you don’t have to explain yourself, and this needed no explanation. Great job!

  4. bawdywench says:

    Courage is an abstract and is an action different for every person.

    I like your poem, it takes courage to admit you don’t a clear idea.

  5. I love it, it goes deeper and deeper each time I read it

    Fancy a new prompt? Try Saturday Soapbox

  6. Lilibeth says:

    Absolution does generate epiphany.

  7. Dee says:

    I love the idea of HOWLING release. absolution generates epiphany – what a great line!

  8. Harsha says:

    to ululate release is what struck me the most.And that is somewhat m searching for nowadays.

Leave a Reply

