with the promise of a man

Harvest

Did I see you down
in a young girl’s town
with your mother in so much pain?
I was almost there
at the top of the stairs
with her screamin’ in the rain.

Did she wake you up
to tell you that
it was only a change of plan?
Dream up, dream up,
let me fill your cup
with the promise of a man.

Did I see you walking with the boys
though it was not hand in hand?
And was some black face
in a lonely place
when you could understand?

Did she wake you up
to tell you that
it was only a change of plan?
Dream up, dream up,
let me fill your cup
with the promise of a man.

Will I see you give
more than I can take?
Will I only harvest some?
As the days fly past
will we lose our grasp
or fuse it in the sun?

Did she wake you up
to tell you that
it was only a change of plan?
Dream up, dream up,
let me fill your cup
with the promise of a man.

– Written by Neil Young

(from Harvest, released in 1972)

Posted for Sunday Scribblings and Harvest.

Rather than write something myself, I decided to go with the first thing that came to my mind after reading the ‘harvest’ topic. And that was Neil Young’s song ‘Harvest’…

The lyrics I’ve always found a perfect mixture of simplicity and mystery … to this very day I’m not quite sure what’s happening or happened in this song.

It’s stayed with me that way for decades … simple, beautiful and mysterious.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Enigma, Life, Lyrics, Music, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to with the promise of a man

  1. Amanda says:

    Great choice for harvest long the song!

  2. April Belle says:

    Absolutely one of my favorite songs… Thank you for posting this! It’s the perfect harvest tribute!

  3. Jingle says:

    love the way you evoke thoughts in your words

  4. chrisd says:

    I really like Neil Young. Good choice. I have never heard this song but I enjoyed listening to it.

  5. ana says:

    I have never heard this song. I have no idea what it means either.

  6. Reflections says:

    Great selection to go with the topic.

Leave a Reply

