My fun times with Gloria

“Take me to the station. Right now!”
“But all I said was …”
“Take me to the station. It was foolish of me to assume you might be different.”
“Gloria, all I said was …”
“Lord have mercy on me. What doesn’t this man understand about ‘Take me to the station’ and ‘right now’!”
“But Gloria …”
“Don’t you Gloria me, Homer. I take no relish in being called anything by the likes of you.”
“Gloria, if it’s just a question of relish, I’ll run to the store and get you some right now.”

This seemed to appease her some. She let go of her suitcase and sat down.
I heaved a sigh of relief.
Gloria was not supposed to be home for another day; her husband had made that very clear.

“A shoulder rub when you’re back from the store? I feel so tense after all this.”
“Yes, Gloria, of course.”
“Then what’s keeping you? Get going, Spud!”

– James Steerforth (© 2011)

Written to tie together foolish, mercy and relish from 3WW.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Flash fiction, Fun, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My fun times with Gloria

  1. V L Sheridan says:

    Interesting. Is Homer in cahoots with Gloria’s husband to keep her away? I think he’s going to have to come with more than relish and a shoulder rub to keep her happy.

  2. Jae Rose says:

    This twisted and spun..playful..a little surreal..relished the word play..and left wondering who these people are and why Gloria can’t go home..Jae

  3. Sheilagh Lee says:

    oh dear Goria really runs rings around them. she always seems to get what she wants.Great story

  4. Kim says:

    Not a relationship I’d relish!
    Here’s my 3WW bit:
    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2011/04/27/childhood-folly/

  5. Altonian says:

    Weird! I don’t get this at all. It reads as though Spud is having an affair with her husband. If that is so, what’s with the shoulder rub. Jae said it was a little surreal. No! It’s very surreal.

  6. ThomG says:

    deliciously twisted.

  7. David King says:

    An ingenious solution

Leave a Reply

