A tragedy among royals

“What in the world am I supposed to do?” she cried.
“What do you mean, my tender love?”
“What am I to do now that I know you’re a deviant?”
Great sobs were shaking her lithe royal body.
“Which of your standards have I violated this time?”
“Call it trivial or even minuscule, but you have removed the pea from under my mattress,” said the princess to her prince.
“I shall have my servant get a fresh one from the royal gardens. It’s pea season, I believe.”

The prince took her in his brawny arms, but it took a long time for her sobs to subside. About 5 minutes, 33 seconds and 52 milliseconds according to the prince’s stop watch.

He was getting better at calming down his oh so supersensory love by the day.

– James Steerforth (© 2012)

Written around deviant, minuscule and trivial from 3WW.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Flash fiction, Fun, Literature, Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A tragedy among royals

  1. Sheilagh Lee says:

    very funny I like your take on the princess and the pea.

  2. angelsharum says:

    Cute piece. Great use of the words.

  3. elleceef says:

    This was an amusing read. I can just picture these two (slightly differently from the original) 🙂

  4. Andy Sewina says:

    Yeah, good stuff, this is fun, funny ‘cos I wrote a piece today called ‘Don’t you just love peas’.

  5. Old Egg says:

    I always thought the princess was a bit precious about this pea thing. Looks as though she can finally live with one under the mattress. Can’t she make her mind up?

  6. Rinkly Rimes says:

    I enjoyed your new slant on an old story.

  7. So smart and funny. Grand tragedy, in fact 🙂
    Best, M.

  8. Well done! Always loved the princess and the pea story.

Leave a Reply

