Cold, depraved and powerful

“You know what, honey? I’m going to change the hero of my novel.”
“Really?”
“Instead of a cold, depraved and powerful man it’s going to be a cold, depraved and powerful woman.”
“Why’s that?”
“I read somewhere recently that novels with heroines are bound to be more successful these days.”
“I see.”
“I’ve already talked to my agent about it. She said go for it.”
“Ok.”
“The cold and powerful are easy. They go together very well.”
“But not depraved?”
“In fact, I’m not quite sure what depraved really is.”
“I’m sure you’ll find out easily if you take a good look at some of those who are cold and powerful out there in real life.”
He looked at her over the top of his reading glasses where she continued to forcefully knead dough in the kitchenette.
Am I crazy? he thought to himself. There is something weirdly cold and powerful about the way she goes about the dough.
“That’s an idea,” he said.
And continued thinking, But there’s nothing depraved about it, is there? That would be too weird!

– James Steerforth (© 2015)

Woven around the words cold, depraved and powerful from 3WW.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Enigma, Flash fiction, Fun, Life, Literature, Nonsense, Sweet dreams and nightmares, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

