The master of archideas

Archidea

They come easily, as in a dream. I tend to them carefully, reflect on them and follow their growth. If they take on shapes and directions I don’t appreciate, I’m not afraid of ceasing to nourish them, to let them perish. But always with a melancholy regret for the demise of a possibility.

Leonard Blumfeld (© 2007)

Author’s note
Originally published in German, where the Archidee/Orchidee (archidea/orchid) pun works perfectly, at Ultrakurzgeschichten. Translated by myself.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Creative writing, Enigma, Flash fiction, Flowers, Life, Literature, Nature, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.