Until my darkness goes

More lyrics – this time an all-time gem from the Rolling Stones a propos the theme of ‘night’ given by Sunday Scribblings. The Youtube live video below shows the band in their very young days with Brian Jones on sitar – much the way the songs sounds on Aftermath.

I seem to have had lots of night in my life in the last few years, so I can fully sympathize. I want my colors back…

– James Steerforth

Paint it black

I see a red door and I want it painted black
No colors anymore I want them to turn black
I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes
I have to turn my head until my darkness goes
I see a line of cars and they’re all painted black
With flowers and my love both never to come back
I see people turn their heads and quickly look away
Like a newborn baby it just happens every day
I look inside myself and see my heart is black
I see my red door and it has been painted black
Maybe then I’ll fade away and not have to face the facts
It’s not easy facing up when your whole world is black

No more will my green sea go turn a deeper blue
I could not foresee this thing happening to you
If I look hard enough into the settin sun
My love will laugh with me before the morning comes

I see a red door and I want it painted black
No colors anymore I want them to turn black
I see the girls walk by dressed in their summer clothes
I have to turn my head until my darkness goes
I wanna see it painted, painted black
Black as night, black as coal
I wanna see the sun blotted out from the sky
I wanna see it painted, painted, painted, painted black

(Written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, released in 1966)

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Lyrics, Music, Poetry, Stellar poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Until my darkness goes

  1. My God the Stones look young! Iconic song with a deeper meaning than I thought before I read this post.

  2. That’s one of the songs that makes me reach for the volume level – to turn it UP – if it comes on the radio. Thanks for sharing!

  3. postedwithlove says:

    Your blog is great… you should post who or what you love on this awesome site POSTEDWITHLOVE.COM!

  4. Anna says:

    Hi – I’m a poet and a blogger and I’ve recently created a new website for all poets and poetry readers.

    I’ve added your link to my site and to my blog at Online Poetry and Free Poems. Would you like to link back?

    I also wanted to know if you would be interested in contributing writing to my blog, Your Poems Your Stories. (You can register for an account there
    and post your own work).

  5. My friend, you and I see to be walking the same paths all painted black. I love all of the music you have on your site. It brings back so many memories. Walk on my friend even if you are just feeling the way. I have linked you to my web page.

    love-bd

  6. paisley says:

    definitely one of my all time favorites… i love jagger and richards,, their songwriting skills were and are incomparable… wonderful choice….

  7. This I love so much. Thanks for sharing this. Wonderful choice!

    nocturnal

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.