My heart, my heart

My heart, my heart
don’t lie to me
as you’ve done
in the past

Or maybe you didn’t
lie to me –
you heard a song
and misunderstood
the words

– James Steerforth

For Totally Optional Prompts. The prompt ‘reflections on the primary’ did not sound a string, but I happened to write this.

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Creative writing, Life, Literature, Love, Music, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My heart, my heart

  1. stan says:

    Interpretation can draw a fine line between truth and lies

  2. I too did not write for the prompt as it did nothng in my mind. No clicking, nothing.

    In fact, my poem nicely complements yours.

    is it what is called love poetry?

  3. karen says:

    Dear James,
    I really like this poem.
    With the prompt from re: the primaries mixed in, I imagined Hillary doing a reading of this one. I gave it a nice flavor.
    LOL

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.