A poem by Hugo Ball

hugo_ball

My demon

My demon has no brothers, no sisters, no kin.
My demon thinks time’s just a waste and a sin.
When God had made the worlds good enough,
My demon sat down in the grass for a laugh.
Cut his toenails in two in a dance,
And saw the whole world glide by in a glance.

Hugo Ball (1886-1927)

(Translated from German by Johannes Beilharz, copyright © of translation by Johannes Beilharz 2010. The photo shows Hugo Ball at the Cabaret Voltaire in Zurich in 1916.)

Original German poem

International poetry in English translation

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Literature, Nonsense, Poetry, Stellar poetry, Translation, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.