Sarko & Carla Bruni – love forever?

Europe’s current favorite love story between French President Nicolas Sarkozy and ex-model/singer Carla Bruni keeps the tabloids busy these days. An opportune time perhaps to go and see what Carla Bruni has to say about love in her best-known song (original French follows, an English version below) …

Quelqu’un m’a dit …

On me dit que nos vies ne valent pas grand chose,
Elles passent en un instant comme fanent les roses.
On me dit que le temps qui glisse est un salaud
Que de nos chagrins il s’en fait des manteaux.
Pourtant quelqu’un m’a dit…

Que tu m’aimais encore,
C’est quelqu’un qui m’a dit que tu m’aimais encore.
Serait-ce possible alors?

On me dit que le destin se moque bien de nous
Qu’il ne nous donne rien et qu’il nous promet tout.
Paraît qu’le bonheur est à portée de main,
Alors on tend la main et on se retrouve fou.
Pourtant quelqu’un m’a dit …

Mais qui est-ce qui m’a dit que toujours tu m’aimais?
Je ne me souviens plus, c’était tard dans la nuit,
J’entends encore la voix, mais je ne vois plus les traits.
“Il vous aime, c’est secret, lui dites pas que j’vous l’ai dit.”
Tu vois quelqu’un m’a dit…

Que tu m’aimais encore, me l’a t’on vraiment dit…
Que tu m’aimais encore, serait-ce possible alors ?

On me dit que nos vies ne valent pas grand chose,
Elles passent en un instant comme fanent les roses.
On me dit que le temps qui glisse est un salaud,
Que de nos tristesses il s’en fait des manteaux.
Pourtant quelqu’un m’a dit que…

Que tu m’aimais encore,
C’est quelqu’un qui m’a dit que tu m’aimais encore.
Serait-ce possible alors?

– Lyrics by Carla Bruni, from the album Quelqu’un m’a dit … (2002)

Someone told me …

I’ve been told that our lives don’t hold much power,
That they’re gone in an instant like a wilted flower.
I’ve been told that time slipping by is a bugger
Who gets off on dealing you blows like a slugger.
And yet someone told me …

That you still love me
There was someone who told me you still love me.
Can this or can it not be?

I’ve been told that destiny is a big joke,
Promises everything, then leaves you broke.
It looks like happiness is so close at hand,
Then you reach out and are left with nothing but sand.
And yet someone told me …

That you still love me
Someone told me you still love me.
Can this or can it not be?

But who was it who told me your love was still true?
It was late at night, but I don’t have a clue.
I still hear the voice but the face has gone cold.
“He loves you. It’s a secret. Don’t tell him I told.”
So there – someone told me …

That you still love me, was I really told
That you still love me, or can it not be?

I’ve been told that our lives don’t hold much power,
That they’re gone in an instant like a wilted flower.
I’ve been told that time slipping by is a bugger
Who gets off on dealing you blows like a slugger.
And yet someone told me …

That you still love me
Someone told me you still love me.
Can this or can it not be?

– English version by Johannes Beilharz (copyright 2008)

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Bland observations, Flowers, Life, Love, Lyrics, Music, Time, Translation, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sarko & Carla Bruni – love forever?

  1. May says:

    Hi.
    I just wanted to say that I, too, posted these lyrics on my old blog together with an English translation.

    It took me some time to figure out how to log in and leave this unimportant comment. Then I remembered about a wordpress account that I had never used…

    May

  2. Pingback: Listen: Carla Bruni – Quelqu’un m’a dit | 500DAYS.com

  3. Pingback: Festival Crashers » Blog Archive » 500 Days of Summer Soundtrack

  4. The Festival Crashers article (see previous comment) seems to imply that the author of that blog did the translation that he links to (this translation). This is definitely not true. This translation was done by Johannes Beilharz.

  5. DRISHTI says:

    good poems and arevery sweet and lovely we got a homework to write a french poem with a transalation in english so i liked
    SARCO AND CARLA BRUNI LOVE FOREVER. DRISHTI SHARMA

  6. Thank you for posting the lyrics of this beautiful song! Carla Bruni is an ultra-talented and beautiful woman…that’s for sure!

  7. You’ve got some great stuff on your blog here!

  8. papertiger says:

    i love this song! ❤

  9. Cochlea says:

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.