Let creation reveal its secrets by and by

browne_late.jpg

Sometimes a song inserts itself in my mind pretty much out of nowhere as far as I can tell, and I can’t shake it for hours. This is the one that came today – more specifically, these words:

They would need to make their journey back to nature
While the sand slipped through the opening
And their hands reached for the golden ring
With their hearts they turned to each other’s heart for refuge
In the troubled years that came before the deluge

– Jackson Browne (from Before the Deluge)

About James Steerforth

I am an author of poetry and fiction, translator and painter who loves to have fun with borrowed feathers.
This entry was posted in Life, Lyrics, Music, Nature, Poetry, Stellar poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let creation reveal its secrets by and by

  1. Tommi says:

    When I was young (60s/70s) I couldn’t stand Jackson Browne. Now, I can’t get enough of artists like Browne. That goes for Led Zepplin, Miles Davis, all the great Blues men. I honestly don’t understand how the younger generation today falls for all the bull pop music thrown at them. But perhaps I’m off subject here. Sorry.
    -tgs-

  2. Oh, I suppose that’s still pretty much on subject.

    What music did you like when you were younger generation?

    I remember distinctly that my older generation at the time, i.e. my parents, did not understand my taste in music 🙂

  3. ngriffin says:

    I can not seem to get the whole Blind Melon song, Change, out of my mind today……I am not in a bad mood. Here are the words:

    I dont feel the suns comin out today
    Its staying in, its gonna find another way.
    As I sit here in this misery, I dont
    Think Ill ever see the sun from here.
    And oh as I fade away,
    Theyll all look at me and say, and theyll say,
    Hey look at him! Ill never live that way.
    But thats okay
    Theyre just afraid to change.
    When you feel your life aint worth living
    Youve got to stand up and
    Take a look around you then a look way up to the sky.
    And when your deepest thoughts are broken,
    Keep on dreaming boy, cause when you stop dreamin its time to die.
    And as we all play parts of tomorrow,
    Some ways will work and other ways well play.
    But I know we all cant stay here forever,
    So I want to write my words on the face of today.
    And then theyll paint it
    And oh as I fade away,
    Theyll all look at me and theyll say,
    Hey look at him and where he is these days.
    When life is hard, you have to change.

    Any explanation for that….? It must mean something…..????

  4. In response to ngriffin:

    “not in a bad mood” – yes, this blues is not bad mood stuff at all. It’s making an excellent case for change 🙂

Leave a Reply

